top of page
  • Bethany O.

To Orchestra, or Not To Orchestra?

Back in September, I had a long discussion with my cello teacher about whether or not I should join a community orchestra that was in driving distance. It went a little something like this...


Me: "Hey, there's an orchestra up in Lebanon that I was interested in, and I think I'd like to try it."

Him: "I don't think that's a good idea. You're so new at this."

Me: **while e-mailing with the orchestra director** "Well, what if I get some of the music and see what they're playing first?"

Him: "I really think it's too soon."

Me: **begging**

Him: **silence**

Me: **forwards e-mail containing music samples to teacher** (note: Elgar was NOT included)

Him: "Oh, well... this looks fairly simple. I think you can do this. It's worth a shot.

Me: **silently, to myself** YES!!!


So, I went to the first orchestra rehearsal and did okay-ish, but then encountered the Elgar, got in the car after rehearsal, and called my teacher in a panic. There were notes (and a CLEF) I had never SEEN! "Well, I guess we'll just have to work up the neck a little faster than we planned..." he quipped, mirthfully. Little did I know the effect that it would have on my future as a cellist.


Now, less than 9 months later, I am already in Suzuki Book 4, working on the Breval Sonata for cello, and fully comfortable with all the neck positions, and some of 5th and 6th position. Being part of an orchestra rocketed my playing forward like I've never known, and while it's been a good thing for learning positions and intonation (and making cellist friends), I can say it's had its pitfalls. Moving forward this fast has been wildly fun and challenging, but I've had to be very careful about going back and picking up bits and pieces of technique, particularly in bowing, that got left behind as I moved forward.


Orchestra ends for the season this week with an Independence Day concert, so I'll have a bit more time to work on technique through July & August before starting up again in mid-September.


I'm sure you're asking if it's a good idea for YOU to join an orchestra. My cello teacher said no at first, but now that he's agreed, we're BOTH glad I did it, because he sees how much I've learned in a very short time. Is it right for everyone? No. If you don't have any musical background before taking up cello, it's probably something you'd need to wait on. If your cello teacher feels you're ready, do it! If not, but YOU feel you're ready, there's only one way to find out. For some people, it helps them learn incredibly fast. For others, it can be incredibly overwhelming and even cause them to quit. It depends not only on the music, but on the orchestra's environment and how supportive the players are. There are so many variables that can make joining an orchestra the best thing you've ever done... or your worst nightmare come true.


But your mindset can also have a lot to do with it! If you DO decide to "bite the bullet" and join an orchestra, go in with the outlook that you're ready for this and that you can accomplish the music. It might be difficult at first, but as long as you think you can have it prepared by the concert, it is completely doable! And if you never try, you never succeed!


Happy Cello'ing! #celloislife


Oh... and here's the long-awaited Elgar performance from our big concert! Enjoy!!


447 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page